Large containers
Large containers

Our craft cooperage in Cognac offers wine tanks and vats made of French oak and boasting countless innovations, along with the option of PEFC certification.

Made of 100% French oak, our wine tanks and vats benefit from the ancestral expertise found at our craft vat cooperage in Cognac. After being carefully selected from forests by our buyers, the timber is sawed at our Ronchamp sawmill and transformed into batches that are left to dry naturally for several years at our maturation yards in Ronchamp and Cognac. After trimming and jointing, performed at our workshops, the process of making these ‘titans’ can begin.

Download the brochure

READY-MADE SERVICE

A range of vats and tanks in standard dimensions, perfectly pre-equipped for easy use: SEGUIN MOREAU’s expertise in concentrated form, simply put !

  • OPTIMUM

    Building on its vat-making experience, SEGUIN MOREAU developed the OPTIMUM ranges to meet the most common requirements as simply as possible. They are divided into vats ranging in size from 10 to 60 hl in open or closed designs, and the tanks are available in 10 to 50 hl in a round or oval shape.

TAILORED SERVICE

As an expert cooper in making French oak vats and tanks ranging from 10 to 750 hl, our French roots have enabled us to develop expertise in the spirits market (cognac, armagnac, rum and more). Over the course of fifty years, this experience has extended to producing large containers for vinifying and maturing fine wines, as well as beer and cider.

  • YOUR PROJECT, OUR EXPERTISE

    From selecting the wood to installing the containers, the creativity of our design engineers, the skill of our artisan vat makers, and the reliability and meticulous care and attention of our cooper assemblers are all put to use to benefit you. Tailored to maturation and winemaking, our models are assembled using a hammer and hoop driver, ensuring efficient tightening and perfect watertightness. They have sandwiched doors and hatches, without screws or bolts, allowing for perfect hygiene and lasting watertightness. The steam-tightened upper ends of our vats and tanks are convex or concave to prevent air pockets and withstand pressure !

LATEST ADDITIONS

SEGUIN MOREAU, a pioneer since 1838, is also a trendsetter for large containers. It therefore regularly proposes new additions to its range of large containers: new toast levels, new products, new accessories – explore our newest innovations.

  • Steam tightening

    The latest addition to the large container workshops, the steam bending cabin offers lighter heating for large containers of up to 80hL. An additional step after stave assembly, the cabin not only bends the staves, but by adding moisture to the wood will impact the toasting realised afterwards.

  • GALILEOAK

    SPHERICAL 15HL OAK VAT

    From selecting the oak to the finishing process, SEGUIN MOREAU has poured all of its expertise into the GALILEOAK. This sphere with its thick staves has benefited from a unique, patented manufacturing process, in particular thanks to an exclusive clamping system. The staves undergo steam bending, and then the GALILEOAK is assembled and equipped with a stainless steel hatch and a window offering a look inside the tank. The various stages in the fermentation process are on view, a unique experience ! A true work of art pairing technical prowess with innovation, this will add a unique touch to your winery.

TOAST LEVELS

Tailored to the dimensions of large containers, the toasting process takes several hours. This long-term approach, the very principle underlying the cooperage and winemaking trades, is one of the key factors behind the quality of our ranges. Find out more !

  • FIRE

    Assembled around a brazier, the large container is initially tightened then undergoes bousinage: this toasting process can take up to an entire day for the largest containers. The temperatures inside and outside the barrel body are regularly measured during the toasting process.

  • STEAM

    The steam-bending cabin offers an alternative to fire-toasting for our large containers up to 80 hL, by limiting the amount of toast added. The tank or cask is then placed in the cabin for a few hours. Under the effect of the steam, the wood gains in flexibility, enabling bending without risk of breakage and without contact with a flame. At the end of this stage, the large container is then placed on a brazier for the bousinage stage, so as to freeze the deformation of the staves (plastic deformation), but without the addition of aromas specific to toasting, thanks to the steam still present at the heart of the staves.

OUR SPECIALITIES & PATENTS

As a vat maker since 1877, SEGUIN MOREAU has gained expertise that is recognised across the world. This longevity and the experience gained has enabled it to offer relevant solutions and patented innovations, as well as both technical and aesthetic advantages.

  • THE BENEFITS OF SEGUIN MOREAU

    • Hoop fitting with a hammer and hoop driver
    • Tightening of ends
    • Sandwiched installation of doors and hatches
    • Hatches flush with the bottom head for easy, safe running off
    • Total coverage with stainless steel top head
    • Automated yeast stirring system
    • And more…
  • CLEAR STAVE

    Allowing every stage of the winemaking process to be directly viewed, the clear stave also enables vat filling to be monitored: a perfect patent for both practicality and winery tours.

  • HATCHES FLUSH WITH THE BOTTOM HEAD

    Offering the same benefits as the other hatches on offer, namely U-frame assembly with no screws or bolts, this hatch also makes running off easier and offers safety benefits.

  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Christophe CAPDEVILLE
    Operational Director - Château Brane Cantenac
    "What prompted us to work with Seguin Moreau was our trust in their organisation and teams, who have always proven extremely responsive and attentive with us since 1997."
FIND OUT MORE
  • Array
    Our patents and publications

    As a pioneer with its scientific approach, SEGUIN MOREAU conducts research and innovates to continually improve its understanding of the world of wines and spirits.

  • Array
    Advice

    Seguin Moreau vous propose des guides pratiques et conseils lors de la mise en service, l’entretien, le stockage et l'utilisation de produits oenologiques.

  • Barrels

    Whether cognac, whisky or brandy, our barrels for spirits are made at our craft cooperage in Cognac.

Grands contenants
Grands contenants

À Cognac, notre tonnellerie artisanale propose des foudres et des cuves à vin en bois de chêne français, avec possibilité de certification PEFC, et dotés de nombreuses innovations.

100% en chêne français, nos cuves et foudres bénéficient du savoir-faire ancestral de notre foudrerie artisanale. Après avoir été soigneusement selectionnées en forêts par nos acheteurs, les grumes sont sciées dans notre scierie de Ronchamp pour devenir des plots qui vont sécher naturellement pendant plusieurs années sur nos parcs de maturation à Ronchamp et Cognac. Après les opérations de délignage et de jointage, réalisées dans nos ateliers, la fabrication de ces ‘titans’ peut débuter.

Télécharger la brochure

OFFRE CLÉ EN MAIN

Une gamme de cuves et de foudres, aux dimensions standards et prééquipés de manière optimale pour une utilisation facile: un concentré de l’expertise SEGUIN MOREAU en toute simplicité !

  • OPTIMUM

    Forte de son expérience en foudrerie, SEGUIN MOREAU a développé les gammes OPTIMUM pour satisfaire simplement les besoins les plus courants. Elles se déclinent sur les cuves de 10 à 60 Hl en modèles ouverts ou fermés et les foudres sont disponibles de10hL à 50hl en format rond ou ovale.

OFFRE SUR MESURE

Tonnellerie experte dans la fabrication de cuves et de foudres en chêne français de 10 à 750 hl, notre ancrage cognaçais nous a permis de développer un savoir-faire pour le marché des spiritueux (cognac, armagnac, rhum, etc.). Depuis 50 ans, cette expérience s’est étendue à la fabrication des grands contenants pour la vinification et l’élevage des Grands Vins, mais aussi de la bière et du cidre.

  • VOTRE PROJET, NOTRE EXPERTISE

    De la sélection du bois à l’installation des contenants, la créativité de nos ingénieurs concepteurs, la maitrise de nos artisans foudriers, la fiabilité et le soin méticuleux de nos tonneliers-assembleurs sont à votre service. Adaptés pour l’élevage et la vinification, nos modèles sont montés à la masse et à la chasse assurant serrage efficace et une parfaite étanchéité. Ils bénéficient de portes et trappes assemblées en sandwich, sans boulons ni vis, gage d’une hygiène parfaite et d’une étanchéité durable. Cintrés à la vapeur, les fonds supérieurs de nos cuves et foudres sont convexes ou concaves pour éviter les poches d’air, ou résister à la pression !

DERNIERS-NÉS

Pionnière depuis 1838, SEGUIN MOREAU l’est également en foudrerie. Elle propose donc régulièrement des nouveautés pour ses grands contenants: nouvelle chauffe, nouveau produit, nouvel accessoire, découvrez les derniers-nés de cette activité.

  • CINTRAGE VAPEUR

    Toute dernière arrivée dans les ateliers des grands contenants, la cabine de cintrage vapeur permet d’offrir un chauffe plus légère aux grands contenants jusqu’à 80hL. Etape supplémentaire intervenant après l’assemblage des douelles, la cabine permet non seulement le cintrage des douelles mais en gorgeant le bois d’humidité, aura également un impact sur le bousinage effectué à la sortie de la cabine.

  • GALILEOAK

    CUVE SPHÉRIQUE EN CHÊNE DE 15HL

    Depuis la sélection du chêne jusqu’à la finition SEGUIN MOREAU a mis dans GALILEOAK tout son savoir-faire. Avec des douelles épaisses, cette sphère bénéficie d’un procédé de fabrication unique et breveté, notamment grâce à un dispositif de serrage exclusif. Après le cintrage des douelles à la vapeur, GALILEOAK est assemblée et équipée d’une trappe inox et d’un hublot permettant de visualiser l’intérieur. Les étapes de la fermentation se donnent à voir, spectacle singulier ! Véritable oeuvre d’art alliant technicité et innovation, mettez en valeur votre chai de façon unique.

LES CHAUFFES

Adaptées à la dimension des grands contenants, les chauffes durent de nombreuses heures. Là encore, le temps long, principe même du métier de tonnelier et de celui du vigneron est un des éléments clés de la qualité de nos gammes. Découvrez-les !

  • AU FEU

    Assemblé autour du brasero, le grand contenant sera tout d’abord cintré puis bousiné: cette véritable cuisson peut durer jusqu’à une journée entière pour les plus grands contenants. Les températures sont mesurées à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de la robe, régulièrement au cours de la chauffe.

  • À LA VAPEUR

    La cabine de cintrage vapeur permet d’offrir une alternative à la chauffe au feu pour nos grands contenants jusqu’à 80 hL, en limitant les apports de grillé/toasté. D’abord mis en rose, la cuve ou le foudre est ensuite placé dans la cabine pour quelques heures. Sous l’effet de la vapeur, le bois gagne en flexibilité, ce qui permet un cintrage sans risque de casse et sans contact avec une flamme. A l’issue de cette étape, le grand contenant est alors mis sur un brasero pour l’étape de bousinage, de façon à figer la déformation des douelles (déformation plastique), mais sans apport d’arômes spécifiques de la chauffe grâce à la vapeur d’eau encore présente au cœur des douelles.

NOS SPÉCIFICITÉS & BREVETS

Foudrier depuis 1877, SEGUIN MOREAU a acquis une expertise reconnue à travers le monde entier. Cette longévité et l’expérience acquise lui permettent de proposer des solutions pertinentes et des innovations brevetées, comme autant d’atouts techniques et esthétiques.

  • LES '+' SEGUIN MOREAU

    • Le cerclage à la chasse et à la masse
    • Le cintrage des fonds
    • L’assemblage de nos portes et trappes en « sandwich »
    • Les portes au ras du fond bas pour un décuvage facile en toute sécurité
    • Le fond haut inox ouverture totale – Le système de bâtonnage automatisé
    • Etc…
  • DOUELLE TRANSPARENTE

    Permettant de visualiser en direct toutes les étapes de vinification, la douelle transparente permet également de suivre le remplissage de la cuve: un brevet idéal tant pour la praticité que pour les visites de chais.

  • PORTE AU RAS DU FOND BAS

    Bénéficiant des mêmes avantages que les autres portes proposées, c’est-à-dire d’un assemblage avec cadre en U, sans vis ni boulon, cette porte facilite également le décuvage et est un allié de la sécurité.

  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Christophe CAPDEVILLE
    Directeur d'Exploitation - Château Brane Cantenac
    "L'élément qui nous a amené à travailler avec Seguin Moreau c'est la confiance que l'on a dans la structure et dans les équipes qui ont toujours fait preuve de réactivité et d'attention vis-à-vis de nous depuis 1997."
DÉCOUVRIR ÉGALEMENT
  • Array
    Nos brevets et publications

    Pionnière dans son approche scientifique, SEGUIN MOREAU mène des recherches et innove pour toujours mieux appréhender le monde des vins et spiritueux.

  • Array
    Conseils

    Seguin Moreau vous propose des guides pratiques et conseils lors de la mise en service, l’entretien, le stockage et l'utilisation de produits oenologiques.

  • Barriques

    Barriques à vin, pièces ou tonneaux, en 225L, 228L ou d’un autre format: trouvez dans notre offre qualitative, votre outil œnologique !