Alternatives
Alternatives

Staves, blocks, sticks or chips: explore our range of oak alternatives to find the perfect option for your wine!

Our alternative products are a high-end oenological answer to all oaking methods. The result of research and analysis conducted in the cooperage, combining practicality with technicality, our range is unique. It is also NOP and BIO compliant according to ECOCERT, so can be used as part of Organic Agriculture certification. In terms of dosage, incorporation period, and length of contact, our teams are on hand to help you achieve your objectives – get in touch!

Download the brochure

SCIENTIFIC APPROACH

Like our barrels, our oenological wood ranges benefit from wood analysis that has been performed since the early 1980s. This scientific selection allows us to offer exceptional products.

  • EXCEPTION

    This range owes its name to the exceptional wood selection that the products benefit from. This is the heart of the Seguin Moreau cooperage’s DNA and one of the keys to our product quality. Following ultra-precise qualitative analyses, only wood with specific properties is used to create these alternatives. The EXCEPTION range therefore helps ensure greater volume on the palate, whilst preserving wines’ freshness and showcasing their fruitiness and varietal notes. It is split into staves, blocks, sticks and chips.

NEW PRODUCTS:

OENOCHIPS, OENOBLOCK AND OENOSTICK

Our teams of passionate wine enthusiasts work to offer new products that meet the needs created by market trends and environmental issues. Our ranges have therefore expanded over the years. Discover the latest additions here.

  • R228

    Inspired by the toast level on 228L barrels, this new OENOCHIPS R228 recipe reveals an intense, ripe expression of fruit, underscored by delicate mineral and smoky notes. Supplementing the OENOCHIPS R02 and R03 range, this new product can be used for white or red wines, with dosages tailored to the wine’s concentration. These chips can be used during malolactic fermentation or maturation – feel free to ask our teams to run tests!

  • EXCEPTION: BLOCKS AND STICKS

    Alongside OENOSTAVES and OENOCHIPS, the EXCEPTION is available in blocks or sticks. From alcoholic fermentation onwards or during maturation, you will quickly see remarkable results. Tailored to red, white or rosé wines or even press wine, these products benefit from precise wood selection and a specific, light toast level.

STAVES

Our staves are the result of precise wood selection, represent the cooperage’s DNA, and are available in French or American oak in a variety of thicknesses. Whether traditional ranges or ones created from recipes, choose the staves that meet your needs.

  • TRADITIONAL APPROACH

    OENOSTAVE

    Using French or American oak, our ranges are available in 7 or 18mm: choose the thickness to suit you. You can then tailor the toast level to your needs: ‘untoasted’ for a fresh, floral feel, ‘medium’ for beautiful aromatic complexity, or ‘medium plus’ to add vanilla and spice notes. OENOSTAVES EXCEPTION have recently been added to the ranges.

  • RECIPE-BASED APPROACH

    OENOSTAVE COLLECTION

    OENEOSTAVES COLLECTION: the result of development and testing with our partner clients, this range benefits from recipes specifically designed to create an organoleptic style that can be repeated over time: minerality, fruit, elegance and more. Do not hesitate to ask us for more details of our six product ranges, our teams are on hand to help!

CHIPS

SEGUIN MOREAU’s chips are the result of collaborative work by our teams. Our ranges are now split into OENOCHIPS, OENOFIRST and OENOFINISHER. All of these oak chips for wine are given special attention to ensure that we can offer you high-quality ranges, with precise sensory profiles that can be repeated over time. Some even hold patents, making them unique! Find out more.

  • OENOFIRST

    FOR USE THROUGHOUT THE WINEMAKING PROCESS

    Taking the form of compressed wood bricks, OENOFIRST can be put in direct contact with the harvest as soon as it arrives in the winery, or in the fermentation vat. Made up of anhydrous and/or toasted wood, using French or American oak, the range includes four products: R00, R01, Rosé and Maxim’US, which can be used for red, white or rosé wines.
    This patented format takes up a quarter of the space of a bag of chips, enabling transport and storage savings. Their compacted nature limits oak dust inhalation – a real safety asset.

  • OENOFINISHER

    FOR A FINISH IN RECORD TIME

    Available in four versions:

    • the Original to showcase soft notes,
    • Toast Booster to add smoky and toasty notes,
    • Vanille Booster to intensify vanilla and caramel notes, and
    • Freshness Booster to highlight floral and/or fruity notes. This range of options allows you to add the finishing touches to your wine over one to three weeks, during finishing or at the end of the maturation process. Made of French or American oak, each model is created using a specific recipe. Please feel free to ask us for advice or to conduct testing.
  • OENOCHIPS

    R02, R03 AND R228

    Available as three products, including new addition R228, these high-end tools enable winemakers to achieve distinctive, reproducible sensory profiles. Created from recipes that can combine different oak types, these can be used for red, white or rosé wines during or after malolactic fermentation or during maturation. Get in touch with our teams to find out more and try the product that best suits your needs.

BLOCKS

OENOBLOCK is a practical and effective tool that allows you to take advantage of the complexity and quality of thick staves whilst reducing contact time. Quickly gain volume, elegance and complexity!

  • Oenoblocks

    Made of French or American oak, available in different toast levels, our OENOBLOCKS were designed to enable ideal expression of the nuances and complexity of oak. This range ensures regularity and precision in the resulting sensory profiles.

STICKS: enhance your used barrels!

This oenological innovation helps you stand out and ensure profitability with a range of barrel-aged wines including multiple vintages.

  • Oenosticks: breathe new life into your used barrels!

    Designed as a precise combination of specifically matured and toasted wood types, this unique oenological tool ensures complexity and reproducibility for the resulting sensory profile. Discover the five products on offer (V14, V18, V18 Sweet, V22 and Exception) by talking to our teams.

FIND OUT MORE
  • Barrels

    Whether cognac, whisky or brandy, our barrels for spirits are made at our craft cooperage in Cognac.

  • Our patents and publications

    As a pioneer with its scientific approach, SEGUIN MOREAU conducts research and innovates to continually improve its understanding of the world of wines and spirits.

  • News

    Find the latest news about our brand here! Happy reading!

Alternatifs
Alternatifs

Douelles, blocks, sticks ou chips: trouvez dans notre gamme l’alternatif en chêne idéal pour votre vin !

Nos produits alternatifs sont une réponse œnologique haut de gamme pour tous les modes de boisage. Résultat des recherches et analyses menées en tonnellerie, alliant praticité et technicité, notre gamme est unique. Elle est également conforme NOP et BIO selon ECOCERT, ainsi utilisable dans le cadre d’une certification Agriculture Biologique. Dosage, période d’incorporation, durée de contact, nos équipes sont là pour vous accompagner dans l’atteinte de vos objectifs, sollicitez-les !

Téléchargez la brochure

APPROCHE SCIENTIFIQUE

A l’instar des barriques, nos gammes de bois pour l’œnologie bénéficient des analyses réalisées sur les bois depuis le début des années 80. Cette sélection scientifique permet de proposer des produits « exceptionnels ».

  • EXCEPTION

    Ce nom de gamme trouve son origine dans la sélection exceptionnelle des bois dont bénéficient ces produits. Cœur de l’ADN de la tonnellerie Seguin Moreau, elle est l’une des clés de la qualité de nos produits. Issus d’analyses qualitatives et ultra-précises, seuls les bois avec des caractéristiques spécifiques entrent dans la composition de ces alternatifs. Ainsi la gamme EXCEPTION permettra d’obtenir un meilleur volume en bouche tout en préservant la fraîcheur des vins et en soulignant leur fruité et leurs notes variétales. Elle est déclinée en staves, blocks, sticks et chips.

NOUVEAUX PRODUITS:

OENOCHIPS, OENOBLOCK ET OENOSTICK

Passionnées par le vin, nos équipes travaillent à proposer des nouveautés pour répondre aux besoins des tendances marché et enjeux environnementaux. Ainsi, au fil des ans, nos gammes s’étoffent. Découvrez ici les derniers-nés.

  • R228

    Inspirée des chauffes des pièces de 228L, cette nouvelle recette d’OENOCHIPS R228 permet de révéler une expression de fruité mûr intense, soulignées de délicates notes minérales et fumées. Venant compléter la gamme des OENOCHIPS R02 et R03, Ce nouveau produit pourra être utilisé sur des matrices de vins blancs ou rouges, en dosage différent selon la concentration du vin. Utilisable lors de la fermentation malolactique ou en cours d’elevage, n’hésitez pas à interroger nos équipes pour lancer des essais !

  • EXCEPTION: BLOCKS ET STICKS

    Après les OENOSTAVES et OENOCHIPS, la gamme EXCEPTION se décline en blocks et sticks. Dès la fermentation alcoolique ou en cours d’élevage, vous obtiendrez rapidement un résultat remarquable. Adapté au vins rouges, blancs ou rosé et également sur vos vins de presse, ces produits bénéficient d’une sélection précise de bois et d’une chauffe spécifique à tendance légère.

STAVES

Nos douelles sont issues des sélections précises de bois, ADN de la tonnellerie et sont disponibles en chêne français ou américain avec des épaisseurs variées. Gammes traditionnelles ou réalisées grâce à des recettes, choisissez les staves pouvant répondre à vos objectifs.

  • APPROCHE TRADITIONNELLE

    OENOSTAVE

    En chêne français ou chêne américain, nos gammes existent en 7 ou 18mm: choisissez l’épaisseur qui vous convient. Adaptez ensuite la chauffe en fonction de vos objectifs : « non chauffée » pour des sensations fraîches et florales, « moyenne » pour une belle complexité aromatique ou « moyenne plus » pour des apports de notes vanillées et d’épices. Récemment les OENOSTAVES EXCEPTION ont rejoint les gammes.

  • APPROCHE PAR RECETTE

    OENOSTAVE COLLECTION

    Fruit de développement et d‘essais avec nos clients-partenaires, cette gamme bénéficie de recettes spécifiquement pensées pour un style organoleptique, répétable dans le temps: Minéral, Fruits, Elegance… N’hésitez pas à nous demander des informations sur nos 6 références, nos équipes sont là pour vous !

CHIPS

Appelées également copeaux, les chips de SEGUIN MOREAU sont le fruit du travail collectif de nos équipes. Aujourd’hui, nos gammes se déclinent en OENOCHIPS, OENOFIRST ou OENOFINISHER. Tous ces copeaux de chêne pour vin font l’objet d’une attention particulière pour vous proposer des gammes qualitatives, avec des profils sensoriels précis et répétables dans le temps. Certaines bénéficient de brevets, les rendant uniques! Découvrez-les.

  • OENOFIRST

    LES CHIPS COMPACTÉES,
    À UTILISER DÈS L’ARRIVÉE EN CAVE

    En forme de briquette de bois compressé, les OENOFIRST peuvent être mises en contact direct avec la vendange à son arrivée en cave, ou dans la cuve de fermentation. Composée de bois anhydre et/ou chauffé, en chêne français ou américain, la gamme est constituée de 4 références : R00, R01, Rosé et Maxim’US utilisables sur vin rouge, blanc ou rosé. Breveté, ce format est quatre fois moins volumineux qu’un sac de copeaux permettant des économies de transport et de stockage. Le compactage limite l’inhalation de poussières de chêne: un véritable atout sécurité.

  • OENOFINISHER

    LES CHIPS COMPACTÉES, POUR UN FINISH EN UN TEMPS RECORD

    Elles se déclinent en 4 versions :

    The Original pour valoriser des notes douces,

    Toast Booster pour apporter des notes fumées, grillées,

    Vanille Booster pour intensifier des notes de vanille, caramel et

    Freshness Booster pour mettre en valeur les notes florales et/ou fruitées.

    Autant de déclinaisons, pour vous permettre, en 1 à 3 semaines, au moment de la finition ou de la fin de l’élevage, de donner la touche finale à votre vin. Composé de chêne français ou américain, chaque modèle est le fruit d’une recette spécifique. N’hésitez pas à nous demander conseil ou à lancer des essais.

  • OENOCHIPS

    R02, R03 ET R228

    Déclinés en 3 produits, dont la nouveauté R228, ces outils haut de gamme assurent au vinificateur l’obtention de profils sensoriels bien typés et reproductibles. Fruits de recettes pouvant mixer différentes essences de chêne, ils sont utilisables sur vins rouges, blancs ou rosés pendant ou après Fermentation MaloLactique ou lors de l’élevage. Prenez contact avec nos équipes pour en savoir plus et essayer le produit qui conviendrait à vos objectifs.

BLOCKS

OENOBLOCK, c’est un outil pratique et efficace pour bénéficier de la complexité et de la qualité de douelles épaisses tout en réduisant les temps de contact. Obtenez rapidement volume, élégance et complexité !

  • Oenoblocks

    En chêne français ou américain, avec différentes chauffes disponibles, nos OENOBLOCK ont été conçus pour une expression optimale des nuances et de la complexité du chêne. Cette gamme assure régularité et précision des profils sensoriels obtenus.

STICKS: boostez vos barriques d’occasion !

Cette innovation œnologique permet d’assurer la différenciation et la rentabilité d’une gamme de vins élevés en fûts de plusieurs millésimes.

  • Oenosticks : donnez une seconde vie à vos barriques d'occasion !

    Conçu par association précise d’essences maturées et chauffées de façon spécifique, cet outil œnologique unique assure complexité et reproductibilité du profil sensoriel obtenu. Découvrez nos 5 références disponibles (V14, V18, V18 Sweet, V22 et Exception) auprès de nos équipes.

DÉCOUVRIR ÉGALEMENT
  • Barriques

    Barriques à vin, pièces ou tonneaux, en 225L, 228L ou d’un autre format: trouvez dans notre offre qualitative, votre outil œnologique !

  • Nos brevets et publications

    Pionnière dans son approche scientifique, SEGUIN MOREAU mène des recherches et innove pour toujours mieux appréhender le monde des vins et spiritueux.

  • News

    Retrouvez ici toutes les dernières actualités de notre marque ! Bonne lecture !