Large containers
Large containers

Our craft cooperage in Cognac offers wine tanks and vats made of French oak, with the option of PEFC certification.

Made exclusively of French oak, our wine tanks and vats benefit from the ancestral expertise found at our craft vat cooperage in Cognac. After being carefully selected from forests by our buyers, the timber is sawed at our Ronchamp site and transformed into batches that, like barrel staves, are left to dry naturally for several years at our maturation areas in Ronchamp and Cognac. After trimming and jointing, performed at our workshops, the process of making these ‘titans’ can begin.

OFFRE SUR MESURE

As an expert cooper in making oak vats and tanks ranging from 10 to 750 hl, our French roots have enabled us to develop expertise in the spirits market (cognac, armagnac, rum and more).

  • YOUR PROJECT, OUR EXPERTISE

    Perfectly tailored to maturing brandies, each product is custom made. From selecting the wood to installing the containers, the creativity of our design engineers, the skill of our artisan vat makers, and the reliability and meticulous care and attention of our assemblers are all put to use to benefit you. Hoops are fitted using a hammer and hoop driver to ensure efficient tightening and perfect watertightness. All joints are BNIC-approved (alcohol-resistant).

TOAST LEVELS

After trimming and jointing, the staves are tightened over the heat of an open flame. This toasting process is followed by bousinage, or oenological toasting of the oak.

  • Fire

    Assembled around a brazier, the large container is initially tightened then undergoes bousinage: this toasting process can take up to an entire day for the largest containers. The temperatures inside and outside the barrel body are regularly measured during the toasting process.

OUR SPECIALITIES & FINISHES

Having been working in the large container industry since 1838, SEGUIN MOREAU has ancestral expertise that demonstrates its quality. Its ageing area, split between Ronchamp and Merpins, ensure that our vat cooperage has significant production capacity. Finally, our manufacturing equipment enables us to produce very large containers up to 750 hl.

  • HOOP FITTING

    To ensure that vats and tanks are perfectly watertight, they all systematically undergo hoop fitting performed with a hammer and hoop driver. This ancestral technique is still popular and is passed down from generation to generation.

  • FINISHES

    Our teams pay meticulous care and attention to finishing large containers, which will be used for many years. Applying a microporous varnish or linseed oil offers protection against stains and provides a silky, warm look. The galvanised steel hoops are painted to prevent oxidation. All of the products used are carefully selected.

  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Baptiste LOISEAU
    Cellar Master - Rémy Martin
    "There are various words that spring to mind to describe how the Seguin Moreau teams have worked on this large cask project for Rémy Martin: professionalism, precision, innovation, responsiveness and expertise."
FIND OUT MORE
  • Barrels

    Whether cognac, whisky or brandy, our barrels for spirits are made at our craft cooperage in Cognac.

  • Alternatives

    Chips, blocks, sticks: take a look at our range of oak alternative products to find the ideal solution for maturing your spirits!

  • News

    Find the latest news about our brand here! Happy reading!

Grands contenants
Grands contenants

À Cognac, notre tonnellerie artisanale propose des foudres et des cuves à spiritueux en bois de chêne français, avec possibilité de certification PEFC.

Réalisés uniquement en chêne français, nos cuves et foudres bénéficient du savoir-faire ancestral de notre foudrerie artisanale. Après avoir été soigneusement selectionnées en forêts par nos acheteurs, les grumes sont sciées sur notre site de Ronchamp pour devenir des plots qui, à l’instar des merrains de barriques, vont sécher naturellement pendant plusieurs années sur nos parcs de maturation de Ronchamp et Cognac. Après les opérations de délignage et de jointage, effectuées dans nos ateliers, la fabrication de ces ‘titans’ peut débuter.

OFFRE SUR MESURE

Tonnellerie experte dans la fabrication de cuves et de foudres en chêne de 10 à 750 hl, notre ancrage cognaçais nous a permis de développer un savoir-faire pour le marché des spiritueux (cognac, armagnac, rhum, etc.).

  • VOTRE PROJET, NOTRE EXPERTISE

    Parfaitement adapté pour l’élevage des eaux-de-vie, chaque produit est fabriqué sur mesure. De la sélection du bois à l’installation des contenants, la créativité de nos ingénieurs concepteurs, la maitrise du geste de nos artisans foudriers, la fiabilité et le soin méticuleux de nos monteurs sont à votre service. Afin d’assurer un serrage efficace des cercles et une parfaite étanchéité, celui-ci est réalisé à la chasse et à la masse. Tous les joints sont agréés BNIC (résistants à l’alcool).

LES CHAUFFES

Après les opérations de délignage et de jointage, vient le moment de cintrer les douelles à chaud sur un feu ouvert. Cette chauffe se poursuit par le bousinage, véritable « cuisson » du chêne.

  • Au feu

    Assemblé autour du brasero, le grand contenant sera tout d’abord cintré puis bousiné: cette véritable cuisson peut durer jusqu’à une journée entière pour les plus grands contenants. Les températures sont mesurées à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de la robe, régulièrement au cours de la chauffe.

NOS SPÉCIFICITÉS & FINITIONS

Présente depuis les années 1838 sur l’activité de foudrerie, SEGUIN MOREAU bénéficie d’une expertise ancestrale, gage de qualité. Son parc à plots, réparti entre Ronchamp et Merpins assure à notre foudrerie une capacité de fabrication importante. Enfin notre outil de fabrication permet de réaliser des très grands contenants pouvant aller jusqu’à 750hL.

  • LE CERCLAGE

    Afin de garantir une parfaite étanchéité aux cuves et foudres, elles beneficient toutes systématiquement du serrage effectué à la chasse et à la masse. Technique ancestrale, elle est encore aujourd’hui plébiscitée et transmise de génération en génération.

  • LES FINITIONS

    Nos équipes apportent un soin méticuleux aux finitions des grands contenants, qui vont être utilisés des années durant. L’application d’un vernis microporeux ou d’huile de lin permet d’apporter au chêne une protection contre les tâches et lui confère un aspect satiné et chaleureux. Les cercles en acier galvanisés sont peints afin de prévenir l’oxydation. Tous les produits employés sont rigoureusement sélectionnés pour leur utilisation.

  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Baptiste LOISEAU
    Maître de chais - Rémy Martin
    "Concernant le travail des équipes Seguin Moreau sur ce projet de grands tonneaux pour la maison Rémy Martin, plusieurs adjectifs me viennent : Professionalisme, précision, innovation, réactivité et savoir-faire."
DÉCOUVRIR ÉGALEMENT
  • Barriques

    Fût à cognac, à whisky, ou eau-de-vie, nos barriques pour spiritueux sont élaborées dans notre tonnellerie artisanale de Cognac.

  • Alternatifs

    Chips, blocKs, sticks : trouvez dans notre gamme le produit alternatif en chêne idéal pour le vieillissement de vos spiritueux !

  • News

    Retrouvez ici toutes les dernières actualités de notre marque ! Bonne lecture !