barrique pour vin en bois
Barrels

Wine barrels, in 225L, 228L or another format: our high-quality range will have the oenological tool for you !

Thanks to a wide range of options for wood types, toast levels, containers, models and finishes, at SEGUIN MOREAU you can create the barrel that suits your oenological objectives. Our sales team are on hand to help you make your choice.

NEW: LOW-IMPACT BARREL & ELEMENT

Appreciated and recognised for the sweetness and aromatic complexity that its barrels bring to a wine, the SEGUIN MOREAU cooperage regularly updates its range by adding new barrel profiles. In 2022, therefore, the cooperage unveiled its ELEMENT range. It is also offering a four-hoop barrel.

  • ELEMENT

    The aim? Support red wines and help enable expression of the terroir, whilst also revealing the freshness of the fruit. To achieve this, the ELEMENT range uses fine-grained selections of French oak that has been precisely matured for a long period of time in our lumber yard. The oenological toasting process, or ‘bousinage’, has been specially designed: this subtle procedure allows a wine to fully express its terroir whilst enjoying the benefits offered by oak.

  • FOUR-HOOP BARREL: A LOW-IMPACT BARREL

    Barrels are traditionally equipped with six or even eight hoops, but SEGUIN MOREAU is now offering a four-hoop barrel. Removing just a single pair (from eight down to six or six down to four) helps to reduce your impact on the environment. How better to show visitors your winery’s carbon trajectory?

WINE BARREL RANGES

As genuine oenological tools, our barrel ranges are updated regularly with new products, toast levels or finishes. Whether a traditional approach by fineness of grain or a scientific approach born of years of research, all of our barrels are the result of perfect alchemy between wood maturation, craftsmanship and science.

  • SCIENTIFIC APPROACH

    ICÔNE

    A genuine revolution in the traditional cooperage approach of fineness of grain, ICÔNE is still the most innovative method of analytical selection, as it is based on precise sensory results.
    The result of more than 12 years of research and testing in partnership with wineries all over the world and hailed by cellar masters from every country, the ICÔNE barrel range is available in six different models. Using French oak, American oak or a combination of both types, ICÔNE is available for red or white wines.

  • SCIENTIFIC APPROACH

    QTT

    The result of a research programme conducted jointly with ISVV, the QTT barrel – which owes its name to a family of molecules discovered in oak – is the latest in a line of barrels benefiting from scientific analysis. This true revealer of flavour is the ideal container for very expressive wines or for fresh, structured, fine reds. Deliberately only slightly toasted to optimise the expression of QTT, this new barrel helps to preserve the freshness of the fruit whilst also better controlling the wood’s impact on the wine’s sensory properties.

  • TRADITIONAL APPROACH

    SELECTION CLASSIC PREMIUM

    With semi-fine, fine or extra-fine grain, our French oak barrels benefit from ultra-precise wood selection, the result of analyses performed and data collected over the course of more than 20 years. Choose your grain from our Sélection, Classic or Premium ranges and work with our team to decide on the best toast level and model for you. Looking for a different wood type? SEGUIN MOREAU also offers American oak barrels for their vanilla and coconut notes, as well as mixed barrels using acacia or similar.

TOAST LEVELS

Originally designed to bend the staves into a barrel shape, toasting began to transcend its mechanical function following studies of impact on the physico-chemical structure of wood. In the 1980s, SEGUIN MOREAU’s R&D team highlighted the changes that oak undergoes at this stage: the thermal degradation of macromolecules in the wood produces volatile aromatic substances and prompts strong degradation of the oak’s tannins. Named ‘bousinage‘ by SEGUIN MOREAU, this organoleptic toasting forms the heart of the production process.

  • A WIDE RANGE OF TOAST LEVELS

    15 OENOLOGICAL TOAST LEVELS

    SEGUIN MOREAU has always done this over a fire, with the greatest respect for cooperage tradition. By adjusting the parameters of flame intensity and toasting duration, our researchers have defined a wide range of oenological toast levels, based on precise protocols, for winemakers to choose from. To better preserve the grapes’ aromas, we also offer toasting preceded by steam tightening or Aquaflex.

MODELS

Bordeaux barriques (225L) and Burgundy barrels (228L) are the iconic cooperage models, and often the only ones people are aware of… But they would be wrong! We are essentially able to offer containers ranging in size from 114 to 600 litres (or ‘demi-muid’), with thicknesses of 21 or 27 mm (34 or 42mm for 600L) depending on the wood type and grain.

  • OUR CONTAINERS: 225L, 600L?

    Container volume has a direct impact on the surface area where the wood and its container interact, making it a key parameter. Starting at 114L, our range then moves up to 225 or 228L followed by 300, 350, 400, 500L and ends with the 600L ‘demi-muid’ (can be supplied with a micro-winemaker and cradle). The range is huge, and our teams are on hand to determine your needs and help you make your choice – do not hesitate to get in touch !

  • OUR FINISHES

    Galvanised steel or dark steel hoops, fitting traditional chestnut hoops, ends decorated with a pine crossboard, customisation using laser marking: SEGUIN MOREAU offers a wide range of customisation options to fit your winery’s aesthetic criteria, so that barrels can serve as a perfect showcase for your winemaking expertise.

  • THE LOW-IMPACT BARREL

    Four-hoop barrel

    Barrels are traditionally fitted with six or eight hoops. If made of stainless steel, these have a significant carbon footprint. To reduce this, we have developed a barrel fitted with four hoops. Why not demonstrate your winery’s commitment to reducing your carbon footprint by switching to four-hoop barrels over time ?

  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Vincent DECUP
    Winemaker - Château Montrose
    "ICÔNE is a versatile barrel that truly gives wines a longer life, a barrel with a real personality that can be recognised and repeated from one vintage to the next."
  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Thierry USSEGLIO
    Owner - Domaine Pierre USSEGLIO
    "It is hard to sum up ICÔNE in just three words, but if I had to try: quality, precision and finesse."
  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Josh WIDAMAN
    Winemaker - Pine Ridge Vineyards
    "My primary objective with ICÔNE was to be able to see from barrel to barrel that I’m getting a similar tannin integration across each lot and I believe that objective was reached."
  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Philippe STOECKLE
    Winemaker - Château Olivier
    "The Seguin Moreau cooperage is a long-standing partner of Château Olivier. Every year, we use around 70 new barrels to age our red and white wines. For the whites, we have also been using demi-muids for the last 3 years. We particularly appreciate the quality of the wood supplied and the regularity of the toasting. We choose the Bordeaux château tradition.
  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Fabrice BACQUEY
    Cellar Master - Château Phélan Ségur
    "We work with a large part of the Seguin Moreau range (QTT, ICONE, Classic, Selection). Each barrel has a very personal expression that can be identified when tasted. It's a real tool that enables us to achieve precision maturation. Over and above the quality of the barrels, the attentiveness and expertise of the people we talk reinforce our choices in the range".
  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Lovely MIAILHE
    Owner - Châteaux Soudars, Coufran et Verdignan
    "We have been customers of Seguin Moreau for over 5 years, mainly because of the reliability of their company and the quality of their casks. When we started working together, our quality objectives were precise, and the advice we received lived up to our expectations, both after ageing and after several years of cellaring.
  • WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY
    Wei Shuaiqiang
    General Manager - Qingdao Huadong Winery Co., Ltd
    Qingdao Huadong Winery Co., Ltd. as the first customer of Seguin Moreau in China since 1999,  Seguin Moreau has strong technical strengths, enthusiastic and thoughtful services, and stable product quality in oak barrel production, which can effectively improve the quality of aged wine.
FIND OUT MORE
  • Array
    Alternatives

    Chips, blocks, sticks: take a look at our range of oak alternative products to find the ideal solution for maturing your spirits!

  • barrique pour vin en bois
    Large containers

    Our craft cooperage in Cognac offers wine tanks and vats made of French oak and boasting countless innovations, along with the option of PEFC certification.

  • barrique pour vin en bois
    Advice

    Seguin Moreau vous propose des guides pratiques et conseils lors de la mise en service, l’entretien, le stockage et l'utilisation de produits oenologiques.

Barriques
Barriques

Barriques à vin, pièces ou tonneaux, en 225L, 228L ou d’un autre format: trouvez dans notre offre qualitative, votre outil œnologique !

Disposant d’un large choix d’essences de bois, de chauffes, de contenances, de modèles et de finitions, chez SEGUIN MOREAU vous composez la barrique qui correspond à vos objectifs oenologiques. N’hésitez pas à solliciter notre équipe commerciale pour vous assister dans vos choix.

NOUVEAUTÉS: ELEMENT & BARRIQUE À FAIBLE IMPACT

Appréciée et reconnue pour la sucrosité et la complexité aromatique que ses barriques confèrent au vin, la tonnellerie SEGUIN MOREAU complète régulièrement son offre en introduisant de nouveaux profils de barriques.  Ainsi en 2022, la tonnellerie dévoile la gamme ELEMENT. Elle propose également une barrique avec 4-cercles.

  • ELEMENT

    L’objectif ? Accompagner les grands vins rouges et laisser le terroir s’exprimer tout en révélant la fraîcheur du fruit. Pour y parvenir, la gamme ELEMENT s’appuie sur des sélections de grains fins de chêne français qui ont connu un vieillissement long et très précis sur notre parc à bois. Le bousinage ou chauffe œnologique a été spécialement conçu: discrèt, il permet au vin d’exprimer pleinement son terroir tout en profitant des bénéfices apportés par le bois de chêne.

  • BARRIQUE 4-CERCLES: UNE BARRIQUE À FAIBLE IMPACT

    Traditionnellement équipée de 6, voire 8 cercles, SEGUIN MOREAU dispose désormais d’une barrique avec 4 cercles. Le retrait d’une seule paire de cercles (de 8 à 6 ou de 6 à 4) contribue à réduire votre empreinte carbone. Quelle meilleure manière pour illustrer concrètement la trajectoire carbone de votre chai à vos visiteurs ?

GAMMES DE BARRIQUES À VIN

Véritables outils oenologiques, nos gammes de barriques s’étoffent régulièrement avec de nouveaux produits, de nouvelles chauffes.  Approche traditionnelle par finesse de grains ou approche scientifique, résultat d’années de recherches, toutes nos barriques sont le fruit d’une parfaite alchimie entre maturation du bois, savoir-faire artisanal et analyse scientifique du chêne.

  • APPROCHE SCIENTIFIQUE

    ICÔNE

    Véritable révolution dans l’approche traditionnelle tonnelière par finesse de grains, ICÔNE reste aujourd’hui encore la méthode la plus innovante de sélection analytique car orientée vers un résultat sensoriel précis. Fruit de plus de 12 années de recherches et d’essais en partenariat avec des domaines viticoles du monde entier et plébiscitée par les maîtres de chais de tous pays, la gamme de barriques ICÔNE se décline en 6 modèles. En chêne français, en chêne américain ou en mixant ces 2 essences : trouvez l’ICÔNE pour votre vin rouge ou blanc.

  • APPROCHE SCIENTIFIQUE

    QTT

    Issue d’un programme de recherche mené conjointement avec l’ISVV, la barrique QTT – du nom de la famille de molécules découvertes dans le bois de chêne – est la dernière-née des barriques bénéficiant des analyses scientifiques. Véritable révélateur de goût, elle est le contenant idéal pour les vins de haute expression ou les grands vins rouges frais et structurés. Volontairement peu chauffée, pour optimiser l’expression des QTT, cette nouvelle barrique permet de conserver la fraîcheur du fruit et de mieux maîtriser l’influence du bois sur les propriétés sensorielles du vin.

  • APPROCHE TRADITIONNELLE

    SÉLÉCTION – CLASSIC – PREMIUM

    En grains mi-fins, fins ou extra-fins, nos barriques en chêne français bénéficient d’une sélection de bois ultra-précise, issue d’analyses et de collectes de données acquises sur plus de 20 ans. Choisissez votre grain dans notre gamme Sélection, Classic ou Premium et définissez, avec l’aide de nos équipes, la chauffe et le modèle qui vous conviendront. Vous souhaitez une autre essence ? SEGUIN MOREAU propose également des barriques en chêne américain pour leurs apports en vanilline et noix de coco, ou des barriques mixtes avec de l’acacia par exemple.

LES CHAUFFES

Originellement destinée à cintrer les douelles pour donner à sa forme à la barrique, la chauffe a transcendé cette vocation mécanique dès lors que son impact sur la structure physico-chimique du bois a été étudié. Dans les années 80, l’équipe R&D SEGUIN MOREAU a mis en évidence les modifications subies par le chêne à ce stade : la dégradation thermique des macromolécules du bois génère la création de substances aromatiques volatiles et une forte dégradation des tanins du chêne. Aujourd’hui baptisé par SEGUIN MOREAU ‘bousinage‘ , cette opération est au cœur du processus de fabrication.

  • UN LARGE CHOIX DE CHAUFFES

    15 CHAUFFES ŒNOLOGIQUES

    Chez SEGUIN MOREAU, elle est depuis toujours réalisée au feu, dans le plus pur respect de la tradition tonnelière. Jouant sur les paramètres d’intensité de la flamme et de durée de cuisson, nos chercheurs ont défini une large palette de chauffes oenologiques, encadrées par des protocoles précis, dans laquelle les vinificateurs peuvent faire leur choix. Pour toujours mieux préserver les arômes des raisins, nous proposons également des chauffes précédées de cintrage vapeur ou d’Aquaflex.

LES MODÈLES

Barriques bordelaises (225L), pièces bourguignonnes (228L), sont les modèles emblématiques de la tonnellerie et souvent les seuls connus… à tort ! Nous sommes en effet en mesure de proposer des contenances pouvant aller de 114 à 600 litres (ou demi-muid), avec des épaisseurs de 21 ou 27 mm (34 ou 42mm pour les 600L) selon les essences et les grains.

  • NOS CONTENANCES: 114 à 600L

    Le volume du contenant a une incidence directe sur la surface d’échange entre le bois et son contenu : c’est donc un paramètre primordial de choix. Commençant dès 114L, notre gamme s’étend ensuite aux 225 ou 228L puis aux 300, 350, 400, 500L et jusqu’au demi-muid ou 600L (pouvant être équipé d’un micro-vinificateur et d’un berceau). La gamme est vaste, nos équipes sont là pour comprendre vos besoins et vous assister dans vos choix, n’hésitez pas !

  • NOS FINITIONS

    Cerclage en acier galvanisé ou noir, pose de cercles traditionnels en châtaigner, fonds ornés d’une barre en pin, personnalisation par un marquage au laser : SEGUIN MOREAU propose de larges possibilités de personnalisation pour respecter les critères esthétiques de votre chai, afin que celui-ci soit la plus belle des vitrines de votre savoir-faire de vigneron.

  • LA BARRIQUE À FAIBLE IMPACT

    LA BARRIQUE 4-CERCLES

    Traditionnellement les barriques sont équipées de 6 ou 8 cercles. En acier, ils ont un impact carbone important. Pour alléger cette empreinte, nous avons donc développé une barrique équipée de 4-cercles. Pourquoi ne pas montrer au coeur de votre chai l’allégement de votre bilan carbone en basculant année après année à des barriques 4-cercles?

  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Vincent DECUP
    Directeur Technique - Château Montrose
    "ICÔNE, c’est une barrique qui est traversante, qui apporte vraiment beaucoup de longueur au vin, c’est une barrique qui a une véritable personnalité, qui est reconnaissable et répétable d’une année sur l’autre."
  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Thierry USSEGLIO
    Propriétaire - Domaine Pierre USSEGLIO
    "C’est très difficile de décrire ICÔNE en trois mots, mais si je devais en retenir que trois je dirais : qualité, précision et finesse."
  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Josh WIDAMAN
    Winemaker - Pine Ridge Vineyards
    "My primary objective with ICÔNE was to be able to see from barrel to barrel that I’m getting a similar tannin integration across each lot and I believe that objective was reached."
  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Philippe STOECKLE
    Directeur Technique - Château Olivier
    « La tonnellerie Seguin Moreau est un partenaire historique du Château Olivier. Nous utilisons environ chaque année 70 barriques neuves pour l’élevage des vins rouges et des blancs. Sur les blancs depuis 3 ans nous prenons également des demi-muids. Nous apprécions particulièrement la qualité des bois fournis et la régularité de la chauffe. C’est la finition Bordeaux château tradition que nous choisissons.
  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Fabrice BACQUEY
    Maître de chai - Château Phélan Ségur
    « Nous travaillons une grande partie de la gamme Seguin Moreau (QTT, ICONE, Classic, Sélection). Chaque barrique possède une expression très personnelle et identifiable en dégustation. C’est un véritable outil de pilotage qui permet d’atteindre un élevage de précision. Au-delà de la qualité des barriques, l’écoute et l’expertise des interlocuteurs confortent nos choix dans la gamme. »
  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Lovely MIAILHE
    Propriétaire des Châteaux Soudars, Coufran et Verdignan
    « Nous sommes clients depuis plus de 5 ans chez Seguin Moreau principalement pour le sérieux de leur Maison et la qualité de fabrication des fûts. Quand nous avons commencé à travailler ensemble, nos objectifs qualitatifs étaient précis, les conseils apportés ont été à la hauteur de nos attentes que ce soit après élevage ou après plusieurs années de garde. »
  • NOS CLIENTS EN PARLENT
    Wei Shuaiqiang
    Directeur Général - Qingdao Huadong Winery Co., Ltd.
    Qingdao Huadong Winery Co. est le premier client de Seguin Moreau en Chine depuis 1999. Seguin Moreau dispose de solides atouts techniques, de services enthousiastes et attentionnés, et d'une qualité de produit stable dans la production de fûts de chêne, ce qui permet d'améliorer efficacement la qualité du vin vieilli.
DÉCOUVRIR ÉGALEMENT
  • Array
    Alternatifs

    Douelles, blocs, sticks ou chips: trouvez dans notre gamme l'alternatif en chêne idéal pour votre vin !

  • Grands contenants

    À Cognac, notre tonnellerie artisanale propose des foudres et des cuves à vin en bois de chêne français, avec possibilité de certification PEFC, et dotés de nombreuses innovations.

  • Conseils

    Seguin Moreau vous propose des guides pratiques et conseils lors de la mise en service, l’entretien, le stockage et l'utilisation de produits oenologiques.